On puppy grooming

20 Dec

Meet Panda.  panda behaveYes, I know, he looks adorable.  He is almost 7 months old, and is actually very sweet.  But he can be a little devil too at times.  I blame myself partly at this,  I am not a very disciplined mom.  I would let him get away with things, and leave most of the disciplining to the boyfriend.  So far, his best accomplishment is that he’s potty trained.  No accidents at all for almost two months now.  We think he’s a bit smart; unfortunately, he uses it to get in trouble.  He never seems to forget where you last dropped your food, or figure out a way to sneak somewhere he’s not supposed to.  Shredding things also seem to give him joy.

He loves people.  Absolutely adores them.  He jumps too high, and gets all excited whenever he sees someone.  So far, we have worked on getting him to just sit still while someone goes in and out the door.  Of course, once they’re through the door, it’s still a little hard to contain him.  Generally, he’s still a work in progress.  Hopefully, I can get him trained once I start working full-time again.

But let’s get on to grooming.  He is one tough pup to groom.  He bites your when you try to brush his hair, or lift his paw, or cut his hair.  In fairness, he doesn’t bite hard.  But it still gets annoying.  So I understand that he really isn’t the best customer.  We usually give him a bath once a week (unless he somehow gets filthy mid-week); usually on Sundays after his trip to the dog park, where he initially bathes in mulch and other dog saliva.  I use Avoderm puppy formula, and it definitely lasts for a week.  He also gets his hair brushed daily cos it gets tangled at times, and it will be too much work if it gets matted.  I would fix his nails if I could, but that actually scares me.

So far, we have been to two different groomers.  He goes  to the groomers every three to four weeks, depending on their availability, and the length of his coat and nails.  The first one is A Pet Spa Grooming, about 5 minutes away from where we live.  It was a decent place.  They seem very friendly, and the place is clean.  My problem is that they don’t file the nails too well.  Panda comes out, and his nails are still sharp.  His clean smell also doesn’t last too long.  After a few days, he starts to get stinky.

panda copy

The other place we would go to is Woof Gang Bakery & Grooming.  I love Melissa (I hope that’s her name)! She was nice and warm and extremely patient with Panda.  She also files his nails really well.  The only problem I have is that they’re a little further (about 15 mins away, so it’s not to bad), and they charge $15-20 more than the other place.  I went there the other day just to get his nails filed, and this other lady worked on him; and she was bad.  The nails were hardly filed at all.  And given how much jumping and running he does, I almost always gets scratched accidentally.

Would I go back there?  Most definitely.  I think although more expensive, it’s worth it.  But I would probably make sure that I book him with a groomer that I actually like.

3 Responses to “On puppy grooming”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Accelerated Dog Training Health Grooming | Dog Days - December 24, 2012

    […] On puppy grooming […]

  2. I Took the Dogs to the Groomer « MCS Gal - January 16, 2013

    […] On puppy grooming (byjanine.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I Took the Dogs to the Groomer | MCS Gal @ sensitivetochemicals.comMCS Gal @ sensitivetochemicals.com - August 26, 2013

    […] On puppy grooming (byjanine.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Dear Flash

Letters to a Corgi from the Human world

Lady Potpourri

You never know what random shit I'll say today.

Cut The Crap Movie Reviews

...for people who don't read movie reviews.

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

